Skip to main content

Samhithaa Trust

Wisdom is indeed the fruit of penance
Founded for: Yoga, Sanskrit, Philosophies, Vedas, Tantras, Spritual Studies, Ayurveda and Selfless Services.

Online Education

A "Course" is a collection of articles. The list below shows abstracts for all articles for all courses in reverse chronological order (most recent article first). Using the links in the "Courses" box on the side, you can select only those articles in a particular course. Similarly using the links in the "Categories" box, you can select all articles regardless of Course that match a particular tag. It is possible that some articles don't belong to any course -- in that case, the article is free to read. If an article belongs to a course, you must have purchased the course to have access to the full content of the article. When you click on a Course, you will have the opportunity to purchase the course, if you haven't already.

Note that in the Courses and Categories boxes in the side panel, if you click on the icon, you will see more course or category choices, respectively.

In addition to the articles, a course may be supplemented by direct access to Sri Vigneshwar Bhat through Skype, FaceTime, WhatsApp or other means.

Yoga Sutra

"Yoga is restraining the activities of the mind". The above definitions are quite similar for the fact that cittavritti means both pattern of consciousness and activity of the mind. Furthermore, YS enumerates the five-fold kinds of vrittis/ cittavrittis, namely pramana, viparyaya, vikalpa, nidra and smriti, giving their definitions in following sutras as correct knowledge, incorrect knowledge, imagination, sleep and memory respectively. The two essential qualities for success in Yoga are mentioned to be abhyasa, constant practice and vairagya, detachment from the material experience seen more in its inner aspect. The issue of cittavrittis becomes fundamental for the fact that by controlling, blocking or restraining the cittavrittis the state of yoga is achieved through samadhi in its various aspects as experience of awareness


The word ‘Veda’ comes from the root ‘Vid – to know, leading to ‘Vidya’, knowledge which leads further to vision, meaning revelation, self-realization. The Veda is the book of knowledge of Changeless Reality. The four Vedas form a body of religious literature called Shruti. ‘Shruti’ means ‘heard’, experienced and ‘spiritually revealed’. The realized souls, the Rishis, responded to the divine vibrators around them and in their minds and hearts felt and experienced ecstasy. This ecstasy they expressed in the form of Hymns of praise to glory of nature and later prayers to the gods controlling nature.